K-Moive Review/ Twenty (스물, 2015)

movie_image

This is a film about three main characters: Chi-ho, Kyung-jae and Dong-woo. The story is about very daily things such as friendship, love, future career, difficulties in life, etc in their 20s.  It used to be one of the top box office movies in Korea and overseas.

Chi-ho is unemployed playboy and he likes dating girls. Kyung-jae is a university student and he wants to have a job at a big company. Dong-woo is keen on drawing cartoons and wants to become a  cartoonist.  They just turned twenty, the age that they can love someone who they want, do whatever they want or it’s even ok to make some mistakes in their thoughts. Three different personalities are portrayed very well in this movie.  The three actors also performed very naturally in a quite funny way and give the audience a good feeling that this is what should happened in  20s.

Actually, their experience can be considered as the things that most people would face in their 20s. As I’m in my 20s as well, I had the same feeling as those characters whole heartedly. Sometimes I’m worried about uni studies, and I’m also thinking about if I should keep doing another degree or getting a job. Sometimes I meet difficulties in my life and I’m thinking why life is so hard on me. All these minds are belonged to the age around 20, the film tells us the story about 20, moreover, it’s a story about youth. Whatever you are 20 now or you are getting old rather than mature, you can find the memory about yourself of 20s in this movie.

-Xinyi

Leave a comment